the inescapable journey: growing up

coffee house

There’s no avoiding it, growing older is hard. Every birthday, even those impactful ones like 16 and 21, aren’t complete with a little regret of moving forward. I’m turning the big 3-0 this year and it’s being interesting to take stock of what the last year of my 20s looks like and what lies ahead. It’s definitely different that what I expected. It also looks a lot younger from this angle.

In light of this inevitable change we call aging let’s look at facts that await us and the positive and negative possibilities.

FACT #1: We look older.

negative –
I said it. We look older. People aren’t as surprised to find out my age and my wrinkles are setting in (thankfully not too too quickly). My body is changing. Etc. etc.

positive –
I don’t look like I’m playing dress-up when I put on my fancy clothes. I heard an older women describe wrinkles as a “well-earned timeline” the other day and I like that.

FACT #2: Some life-chapters are now closed forever.

negative –
I will never be able to hang out with my college friends and not remember what it felt like to pay bills, think about things in scope of the “long-term”, or really experience that child-like freedom again. Yep, gone.

positive –
With responsibility comes independence. I’m my own woman! I can do what I want! I can make my bed if I want … or not! Seriously though, now middle school is over. I can choose to eat what’s best for me and to do what’s best for me. (Not that people haven’t made great decisions on my behalf in the past but it’s nice to do it on my own :))

FACT #3: Friends change.

negative –
People have moved away or grown apart and there are relationships that will probably die-away. Some have already but I don’t want to accept it.

positive –
In the wake of life-changes, my friendships have bee morphing. It seams as though the idea of “friendship based in location” location is dying away. In its place is “friendship based on ideals”. As we grow older and become more defined we form strong opinions on how life should be. It’s fitting that the community we choose to invest in and let invest in us reflects our growth.
So growing older? It seems to be all about perspective.

Do you agree with me? Are there things that I missed? What do you think about life as we’re growing up and older?

Happy Growing!

One thought on “the inescapable journey: growing up

Leave a Reply

